American Swiss Foundation

Class of 1999


The 10th Young Leaders Conference, sponsored by Nestlé and Swissair, was hosted in Vevey, and one of five to be held along the shores of Lake Geneva. The conference venue was Rive-Reine, Nestlé’s training center in La Tour-de-Peilz near Montreux. The conference would be hosted again in this picturesque town in 2004. 

Follow this link to see all members of the Class of 1999

The class of 1999 includes President of the American Swiss Foundation Patricia Schramm; Dr. Alain M. Cahen, Young Leaders Alumni Foundation board member; Ambassador Hanspeter Mock, Swiss Ambassador to Sri Lanka and to the Maldives; Cédric Dupont, director of executive education and professor of international relations at the Graduate Institute of Geneva; Jonah Goldberg, senior fellow at the National Review Institute, and fellow and Asness Chair in Applied Liberty at the American Enterprise Institute; Matthias Huenerwadel, Group CEO at Zehnder Group International AG; Alison Franklin, chief communications officer for the Academy of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Stephen Spinelli, Jr., president of Babson College; and Balthasar Staehelin, deputy director-general of the International Committee of the Red Cross.

The class also included Swiss Advisory Council member Stephan Jezler, senior vice president for aviation international at RUAG Aviation;  Marcel Abegg, head of property and energy for AIG Europe; John A. Barnes, executive communications, Saudi Basic Industries Corporation; J. Bishop Grewell, Esq., appellate division chief, U.S. Attorney’s Office, District of Colorado; Dr. Matthew Daniels, chair of law and human rights at the Institute of World Politics; Lukas Epple, CEO of Vigier Holding AG; The Honorable John C. Geragosian, state auditor for Connecticut; Conrad Kiechel, executive director of global programming and events for the Milken Institute; Daphne Kwok, vice president for multicultural leadership at the AARP; Ramesh Ponnuru, senior editor for National Review; The Honorable Robert S. Straniere, former member of the New York State Assembly; The Honorable Christopher L. Smith, member of the Florida Senate; The Honorable James Smith, executive director of military strategies and programs for USC’s online school, Palmetto College; and James O'Toole, a prominent journalist in Pennsylvania, politics editor at the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

Follow news from the class of 1999 on Twitter here, and the YouTube channels of all alumni here.

AMERICAN SWISS FOUNDATION, 317 Madison Avenue, Suite 2320, New York, NY 10017